Location: Home » DMV Help » Commercial Licenses » MS-Mississippi
Page Summary: CDL-Commercial Driver License Guide

Commercial Drivers - CDL

Commercial drivers working in the transportation industry keep the wheels of business turning all over the United States. The Mississippi DMV issues all commercial drivers licenses (CDLs).

A commercial driver’s license is a license issued in accordance with Federal Regulations that permits a person to operate a commercial vehicle. The Commercial Motor Vehicle Safety Act of 1986 mandated the Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) program. To make the roads safer for all drivers, each operator of a CDL class vehicle must pass the CDL testing requirements. The CDL program established classes of vehicles within the CDL program; a standard of testing and qualifying for the drivers; a basic format for the license; and a communication network between the states.

A CDL is required if you operate any of the following Commercial Motor Vehicles:

  • A vehicle with a manufacturer's gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of more than 26,000 lbs. 
  • A vehicle towing a unit with a manufacturer's GVWR of more than 10,000 lbs. when the GCWR exceeds 26,000 lbs. 
  • A vehicle designed to transport 16 or more persons (including the operator) or any vehicle carrying children to or from school and home regularly for compensation. 
  • A vehicle of any size that carries hazardous materials in amounts requiring placarding.

You must be at least 21 years of age to drive a commercial vehicle across state lines (interstate commerce) or to carry passengers or hazardous materials or wastes (intrastate or interstate commerce). You may drive for hire within your state lines if you are at least 18 years old and do not participate in interstate commerce activities. If you are 16 years of age but less than 18 years of age, you may neither drive for hire nor drive commercially.

The renewal of a CDL is also a responsibility of the DMV as is the replacement of a lost or stolen CDL.

More details can be found at the Mississippi DMV website.

Back to Top

Select A State: